by info on


Here are the posters and some behind the scenes photos from Black Sun, an upcoming motion picture by Daniel Fawcett & Clara Pais. Shooting took place on location in Portugal during July 2016.


Black Sun (2016)

The first in a series of films exploring humankind’s relationship to darkness, Black Sun (2016) is a film about a descent into the depths of the soul and the images that we find there. Taking inspiration from the portrayal of female characters in European fairy tales, painting and literature, this film seeks to unravel the true feminine experience from the grip of a patriarchal perspective. Black Sun is currently in post-production, due to be released in 2017.


Runtime: 60 mins | Ratio: 16:9 | Shooting Format: HD Colour | Year: 2016


Created by: Daniel Fawcett & Clara Pais | Cast: Kay Fi’ain, Carmim Carvalho, Júlio Mendes Rodrigo, Rafael Cortés, Jorge Sousa, Mário Rui Castro, José Daniel Castro, José Pais, Jorge Costa, David Carvalhal, Sousa Moura, Eduardo Moura, Mário Fonseca, Bruno Costa, Joaquim Costa Gomes, Manuela Almeida, Dionísio Alves Pereira, Jorge Ribeiro and José Oliveira Gomes | Costumes: Patricia Shim, Filipa Melo | Executive Producers: Pankaj Purohit, Babita Modgil, Lucia Moura, James Mackay


Thank you to all our sponsors for supporting the film: Vicky Mousoulis, Bill Mousoulis, Nuno Pinto Marinho, Jen, Masha Kolchina, Maximillian Le Cain, Rouzbeh Rashidi, Dean Kavanagh, Roopali Ganacharya, Jorge André Nunes, Kris Cowell, Dean Puckett, Andrew Fawcett, Karen Eng, Toby Miller, Kaveh Abbasian, Cristina Pais, Vanessa Fernandes, Maria-Pia Santillo, Kelly Hughes, Sandra Barth, Graeme Cole, Jit Phokaew, David Sjöberg, Samuel Christian Kershaw, Pedro Leitão, Sara Barros, Hooroo Jackson and Jason Marsh.


And a special thanks to those who supported us through the use of costumes, props, locations, animals and everything else that helped made this film happen: José Manuel Araújo e Os Plebeus Avintenses, Luís Almeida e Grupo Mérito Dramático Avintense, Mónica Melo e ESMAE, Patrícia Caveiro e Sonoscopia, Henrique Alves, Hugo Oliveira e Parque Biológico de Gaia, Cipriano e Elizabeth Castro e Junta de Freguesia de Avintes, José David Rocha e Confraria da Broa de Avintes, Leonor Soares e Escola Artística Soares dos Reis, Manuel Pinto Pereira, Carla Costa, Mário Rui Castro e Lúcia Moura.